Election Home

The City of Santa Clarita is a general law city with a Council/Manager form of government. The City of Santa Clarita was incorporated on December 15, 1987. The City Council consists of five members who are elected at-large to serve four-year terms. Each December, the City Council selects a member of the seated Council to serve as Mayor on a one-year rotating basis.

Beginning in 2016, the City’s General Municipal Election will be consolidated with Los Angeles County General Election to be held on November 8, 2016. Registered voters in the City of Santa Clarita will have the opportunity to elect two councilmembers for a term of four years each.  Significant dates for the 2016 City Council Election are as follows:

  • July 18 – August 12, 2016 – Filing period for Nomination Papers and Candidate’s Statements. All candidates for City Council will file these documents with the Santa Clarita City Clerk.
  • August 1, 2016 – Semi-Annual Campaign Disclosure Statement (Form 460) due to Santa Clarita City Clerk no later than 5:30 pm.
  • August 13 – August 17, 2016 – Extension of filling period should one or more incumbents fail to file their nomination papers by 5:00 pm on August 12, 2016. During this five-day extended filing period any registered voter who resides in the City, with the exception of the incumbent election official(s), may file nomination papers up with the Santa Clarita City Clerk until the close of business on August 17, 2016 at 5:30 pm.
  • August 17, 2016 – Deadline for candidates to provide the Santa Clarita City Clerk with all candidate ballot designations and candidate statements for approval and transmittal to the Los Angeles County Registrar Recorder.
  • August 18, 2016 – The Secretary of State will determine the order of names as they will appear on the ballot.
  • November 8, 2016 – Election Day.

Please visit VoteSantaClarita.com again for updated information as Election Day approaches.

Click map to view larger.

Click map to view larger.

Precinct Map

Precinct Map - small

Click map to view larger.